Methadone taper with a doctor who scares me URGENT

This fourm is for people struggling to get off methadone. If you are a methadone advocate then please PISS OFF!

Methadone taper with a doctor who scares me URGENT

Postby Cure for Pain » Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:12 am

I'm a 49 year old female with around 15 or 16 years of graduated opiate use. My health is good, otherwise. My husband was just declared disabled due to to Wernicke- Korsakoff syndrome. We were both accountants. Now I'm an accountant that is currently unemployed; my employer moved to the DC area and I wasn't in a position to move with them. I've been going to hubby's doctor's appointments and watching his brain deteriorate. Perfect time to lose this monkey. My home life isn't the best of situations but my kid needs me to be 100% there and awake and doing things. He hopes for admission with substantial scholarships at either UC Berkeley or MIT and his grades certainly support it - never anything lower than an A in his life, plays upwards of five instruments, takes the Engineering Academy coursework (with a 100 semester average) and is in the International Baccalaureate program for his core classes. Sorry to brag like I'm doing but I couldn't be prouder of him and he is my only child. We have yet to do college visits, SATs, ACTs, etc. I have to be on the ball for this. It is the most important time in his life. Its my last big push as a MOM, you know? He knows I'm tapering of a really strong medication that makes me sick if I don't have my regular dosages and actually holds the doses in a pill minder thing that he brings to me to take on the dots of 8 am, 2 pm, and 10 pm. He makes sure I take my clonodine and melatonin before bedtime. He is on my side with this and it means everything for him to see me succeed.