Hey there...I'm new to the site

Sub Sucks and if you havent figured that out yet.. please read a few posts

I'm done!

Postby G8erMike » Tue Feb 06, 2018 1:04 pm

Hey there. Been in suboxone for over 3 years at 16mg daily. I have been abusing it for the past 18 months or so. My wife has suspected something was up for a while but I lied to her and made her believe it was in her head. Saturday night I told her the truth and it crushed both of us. I feel so dirty and ashamed for not telling her that I was abusing this med. She has asked me numerous times in a loving manner if I needed help and I said no. Now that I have come clean to her about the abuse I have been a mess.

Every time I have asked my doc what the plan to get me off this med was he would say there is no reason to come off of it. I need to come off. Any suggestions on what to do? Should I try a new doc to help me taper?

thanks
G8erMike

Re: I'm done!

Postby cheeps » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:10 pm

You can do that...nowadays some Drs actually give you the OK to do so....but they don't know how to taper you down. Can you tell us a little more about how you were abusing the sub. How old you are? What kind of doses you've been taking and for how long? What drug you were using before and how much. Any medical issues? Are you working? Do you have good insurance....any info kinda helps us point you a good direction.

Welcome to SS! If you stick with us, we can help you...
10 yrs on methadone
Meth free 10/08
Back & Neck surgeries
Oxy free 12/06/14
More surgeries 2016-17
2017 Oxy taper halted
cheeps
Advanced Member

Postby G8erMike » Tue Feb 06, 2018 8:02 pm