Mare counts down from 8

Sub Sucks and if you havent figured that out yet.. please read a few posts

New girl

Postby Mare » Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:12 am

Hey, I'm new here. I've never really been one to engage in forum discussion, but after finding this site I'm pretty hopeful. After two years of bupe maintenance with zero slip ups, I found myself ready to start the taper. I'm 28, born and raised in the California Bay Area, aspiring artist and massage therapist by trade, and I love Stitch (from the Disney movie)!

I started looking for help and accounts of real-life experience, tapering schedules, what to expect.. but the more I read from the ancient drugs.com and blue light posts Google was feeding me, the more I realized that I didn't want to join in on a discussion that wasn't primarily focused on getting off for good. I'm happy to have found this community which seems to have a generally positive and forward thinking attitude.

I got hooked on Oxy at 20, was using IV heroin at 21, and I tried to get clean so many times between then and now. At 26 I finally was in bad enough trouble that I went to a court ordered rehab and I was lucky enough to find my life changed at the end of the 4 months. I had detoxed off methadone and got onto Suboxone in my final month there.

I never thought I'd "have the time" to detox, and I was always putting it off far into the future out of fear. I'm finally ready to put addiction replacement therapy drugs in the past, and glad that I have found this new resource. It's hard because I don't really know anyone who has successfully detoxed from Suboxone without relapsing eventually. I'm not super social, but the friends I do have don't really understand how big this is and what it's like to experience. I hope to find that here.