New to suboxone/weaning off right away

Please post, share, or read your personal story here

New to suboxone/weaning off right away

Postby rudd » Tue Mar 13, 2012 9:53 pm

I am brand new to this and would love some advice. 6 days ago I started on suboxone after a 2 year methadone program. The highest methadone I ever took was 57mg and over 6 months I tapered down to 30mg and then did the switch. The first dose the doctor gave me was 2/8mg tablets and the next day I only took 8mg and stayed on that dose for 3 more days. Then I switched to 6mg. I am taking that dose for 6 days and will switch to 4mg. I am planning 3 or 4 days then switch to 2mg for a couple. I want to keep tapering until I am taking crumbs for a few days before I stop for good. I have never had a relaps (opiate addiction) since I started detox almost 2 years and am very determined to beat this and I will. The majority of suboxone success stories I have been reading about seem to agree that its best to get out under 28 days or trouble will follow (just like methadone). I am obviously very scared off withdrawals and hate the fact that my amazing wife and kids might see me in severe withdrawal and am going to do whatever I can to keep them minimal. I have heard that if it is done right it can be much more comfortable then what I am expecting (given the fact I am doing it quickly). I am going to ask my doctor for clonadine to help (it seems most people think it helps alot). I should mention that my addiction came from percocets I was prescribed after I developed chronic pain syndrome to my hand from an accident. I would love to hear from some of you for advice on how to minimize my withdrawls during and after my taper. I will beat this but really need some advice. If anyone can help, I would be forever in your debt.

I love my family and they need the man that I used to be.

Thank you

Rodney
rudd

Re: New to suboxone/weaning off right away

Postby tw15t3d » Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:01 pm

Hi Rodney,